#GuestPost: Get Angry! by Le Dynamique Professeur, LDP


Editor’s note: today I’m privileged to have my very first guest post featuring my brother from another mother Samuel Ekundayo a.k.a Le Dynamique Professeur (LDP). I believe you would all remember him for the blog collabor we did in August 2011 titled The Shoulder of Giants – LDP and SegunAkiodeLDP took time out of his tight schedule to write today’s guest post and I am so honoured. 

Happy Reading… 

All my life, I have been a lover of football. There is this thing in me that is always after the round leather. I often say, when I turn 70, I bet I’d still be playing with my grandchildren. Rewind back to secondary school days. I had just started to settle into my new school and started playing soccer with the boys. They all felt I was no good at the game so every single time we’re out playing, they’d ask me to stay in the goal. Back then, the people who were regarded as no good at the game play goalkeepers.

Whenever we’re about playing, we’d be ask to create a pool for selection in the middle for two self-nominated captains to choose from. I was never chosen into any of the teams; even the subsequent sets. I was always amongst the last 2 or 3, which automatically means I have to stay in goal. I excelled as a goal keeper; as I could still recollect making some brilliant saves. However, my desire was to be amongst the dribblers and shooters of the game. I was always seduced by their manoeuvres on the ball and the swagger with which they carry themselves on the field. They were often the cynosure for the girls. No one sees the goalkeeper except for that one time you make a brilliant save and all you get is a round of applause! You’re lucky if you get a round of it.

A day came, I got angry! Not actually, angry as in wrath, but I made up my mind, “I was made for the in-field, not between the poles”. I can do just exactly (if not better than) what you guys do. I can dribble too. I can pass too. I can shoot as well. I don’t care if I am amongst the last three in the pool today, I still object to being a goal keeper. It took me days of not being selected but I was never ready to quit on my decision. Somehow, one day, my chance came! Some kind friend selected me into his team and the rest, as they say, is history. I established myself as a ‘Ronaldo’. My tricks and flicks didn’t go unnoticed and did I hear you ask about ‘the girls’; they saw me too! LOL

My point is, it is your responsibility to reject every label your peers, the society, the economy, your current job, your colour (fellow black people), and your suburb has assigned you. If you don’t get angry, you will remain a victim. Listen, if you don’t change, things will continue to change and you’ll be missing out. Change is constant but to benefit from it, you’ve got to be ready for it. You’ve got to make it count! You’ve got to welcome it! You’ve got to pioneer it! It is your responsibility! Follow your desires; chase your goals, soar towards your dreams; refuse to be a victim of stereotypical identity. History has the account of those who stood their grounds to reject the stereotypes societies have labelled them with. Do I need to remind you that they made it? Do you want me to do another post to recount their excellence? What are you waiting for? It is your responsibility! Get angry! Stand your ground! Reject that label! Refuse it NOW!!! Remember, what you don’t reject, you automatically accept!                           

Go and make history!

– Le Dynamique Professeur

Connect with LDP | twitter: @DynamiqueProf  | FB Profile: Moyosore Ekundayo (Le Dynamique Professeur) | FB Page: Le Dynamique Professeur | Blog: http://dynamiqueprofesseur.blogspot.com/ 

11 responses to “#GuestPost: Get Angry! by Le Dynamique Professeur, LDP

  1. Wow…I love collabos but when it has to do with great men as Sir Segun and LDP, I’m always wowed. Thanks for the word LDP. Such anger is healthy and needed every now and then. Thanks! 😀

  2. Wonderful piece … we need to constantly get angry with life because life is never fair….we need to place demands on life and be persistent in our quest to achieve our goals..

    • Oh, I love that comment right there sir, “we need to place demands on life and be persistent in our quest to achieve our goals..” Its a habit of the successful to place demands on life o. That is HUNGER, THIRST.. it is what you pursue you will catch up with. If you stand put, you will remain put! Thank you sir.

Leave a Reply

