Developing A Winning Strategy


On Saturday, November 26, 2011, I was part of history at the BEC International Leadership Academy held in the City of Lagos, Nigeria (BEC International is an NGO which I’m part of and we are committed to build, educate and create youth of positive impact with a global vision). The Leadership Academy had in attendance over 120 youths across Lagos and I was part of the Academy Speakers.

This post is aimed to share with you the build-up to the presentation titled Developing A Winning Strategy, the presentation itself and some other interesting stuff.

In the process of preparing for the presentation I found a blog titled What is your meaning of winning? written by Murray Legg (a South African blogger), he based his post on the Game Theory. And that helped me a great deal.

A winner is someone who recognizes his God-given talents, works his tail off to develop them into skills, and uses these skills to accomplish his goals. – Larry Bird

I started the presentation with the above quote from Larry Bird (an American NBA player and Coach) and it was really a good way to start I must add.

My main challenge of the presentation was my audience, most of which fell in the 15 – 25 age group. I tried so much not to sound ‘too advanced’ for their learning and at the same time not water down the essence of the presentation.

As a result, my presentation ended up been in a question and answer mode. I facilitated and taught the academy, citing practical examples of what I went through while I was at their age and I was glad that I was able to connect with them in a great way.

I know of a certainty that the academy participants would be great in the years to come and I was so happy to be part of the success story… 🙂

I have uploaded a copy of the full presentation on slideshare.net and you can download it here (not to worry, the download is FREE and you only need a Facebook account to get access to it).

Please feel free to download the presentation and let me have your comments 🙂 

4 responses to “Developing A Winning Strategy

  1. Well done! We must focus on developing the younger generation if we don’t won’t those who have gone before us destroy their future. I believe our own generation is very pivotal for the birth of a NEW NIGERIA!

Leave a Reply

